Top safety ratings for VW and Lexus

Top safety ratings for VW and Lexus

The latest round of ANCAP safety ratings have been released with 5 stars awarded to the Volkswagen Polo and two Lexus models – the CT200h and IS.

Each of these models has achieved the top rating of 5 stars as a result of their strong performance in each of the physical crash tests and the inclusion of key safety technologies.

The Volkswagen Polo has held a 5 star ANCAP safety rating since 2010 with Polo models from August 2014 offering additional safety assist technologies such as emergency stop signal and secondary brake collision assist as standard.

Autonomous emergency braking (AEB), adaptive cruise control (ACC), fatigue detection and reversing collision avoidance are however unavailable on the base model Polo.

Similarly, the Lexus CT200h has held the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating since its Australasian release in 2011 and models built from December 2013 have retained this rating. Safety features available as standard on CT200h models built from December 2013 include reversing collision avoidance, emergency stop signal and a smart key which can be programmed to restrict certain operation of the vehicle, such as maximum speed.

As with the Polo however, ACC and AEB are not available on the base variant.

The Lexus IS range (models built from April 2013) has also attained a 5 star ANCAP safety rating. The IS achieved top whiplash protection and pedestrian protection scores. All IS variants have an ‘active’ bonnet which, when involved in a collision with a pedestrian, rises to provide additional clearance between the surface of the bonnet and the engine to protect the head of the struck pedestrian.

Only the more expensive variants of the IS have AEB, ACC, lane support systems and blind spot monitoring.

The fourth and latest model to receive 5 stars is the Maserati Ghibli. The Maserati Ghibli was introduced in Australia and New Zealand in 2014.

This ANCAP safety rating applies to all variants. Dual frontal, side chest and side head airbags (curtains) and a driver knee airbag are standard. Antilock brakes (ABS), electronic brake distribution (EBD) and electronic stability control (ESC) are also standard.

“Each of these models offer a respectable range of safety assist technologies however, as with a number of other vehicles we’ve tested recently, we are continuing to see the majority of these important technologies either being withheld from base variants or not available at all,” says ANCAP chairman, Lauchlan McIntosh.

“If we are to see a significant drop in the number of lives lost on our roads, these technologies need to be provided to all. Safety should not be seen as luxury or added extra,” says McIntosh.

ANCAP is supported by all Australian and New Zealand motoring clubs, the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government, Australian state and territory governments, the Victorian Transport Accident Commission, NRMA Insurance and the FIA Foundation.

To search individual crash test results for over 495 vehicles, learn more about safety technologies, explore interactive features, and watch videos click here.

« | »

Let us know what you think

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Road Tests

Silver Sponsors

Car and SUV Team

Richard-Edwards-2016Richard Edwards

Managing editor

linkedinphotoDarren Cottingham

Motoring writer

robertbarry-headRobert Barry

Chief reporter

Ian-Ferguson-6Ian Ferguson

Advertising Consultant

debDeborah Baxter

Operations Manager

RSS Latest News from Autotalk

RSS Latest News from Dieseltalk

Read previous post:
2014 Kia Sportage, NZ 7
Kia: 2014 Sportage Urban Limited review

More and more private and fleet buyers are beginning to cotton on to the fact that they don’t need to...