Motoring Writers’ Guild elects new president

Motoring Writers’ Guild elects new president

Liz Dobson

Liz Dobson

The New Zealand Motoring Writer’s Guild has elected NZ Herald/Driven assistant motoring editor Liz Dobson as its president for the next 12 months.

Dobson takes over from immediate past president David Linklater, who has led the guild for the last three years.

Dobson says that she is committed to bolstering the membership of the guild by implementing new measures to attract new journalists into motoring and motorsport writing.

“As 2015 looks to be even busier than this year for vehicle launches, the guild will again be working closely with car companies on the launch calendar.”

The guild has more than 30 motoring journalists working for newspapers, magazines, internet websites, radio and television. Each year its members select the New Zealand Car of the Year award, held in conjunction with the New Zealand Automobile Association.

Freelance writer Damien O’Carroll (Oversteer, NZ Company Vehicle, Driven) has been re-elected as guild vice-president while Auto Media Group (AutoTalk, Car and SUV, DIESELtalk) chief reporter Robert Barry, remains as secretary for a ninth consecutive term.

The incoming guild executive is: Bill Green (Marlborough Express/, Richard Bosselman ( and Colin Smith (NZME/Bay of Plenty Times), as well as David Linklater (NBR, World, NZ Herald).

« | »

Let us know what you think

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Road Tests

Silver Sponsors

Car and SUV Team

Richard-Edwards-2016Richard Edwards

Managing editor

linkedinphotoDarren Cottingham

Motoring writer

robertbarry-headRobert Barry

Chief reporter

Ian-Ferguson-6Ian Ferguson

Advertising Consultant

debDeborah Baxter

Operations Manager

RSS Latest News from Autotalk

RSS Latest News from Dieseltalk

Read previous post:
Best ANCAP rating yet for Hyundai Genesis

The all-new luxury Hyundai Genesis sedan will be launched into New Zealand at the start of 2015 having achieved the...